What is LUMBERJACK CrossFit?

LUMBERJACK CrossFit started with LTC Pete Andrysiak and a select few Soldiers in the 20th Engineer Battalion. Under the leadership of LTC Jason Kelly, the program grew exponentially. It soon became way of life for over 750 Soldiers preparing for combat.

Today the Fort Hood based Soldiers are back in Texas after a nine month deployment to Kandahar, Afghanistan where they conducted route clearance operations to neutralize explosive hazards, construction projects with local contracters, ANA training and military development, and ensure freedom of movement for the Afghan people and coalition forces.

These brave Soldiers didn't avoid IEDs, they went to find them. They spent long days and nights continuing the reconstruction of Afghan local areas and FOBs. They even trained and developed Afghan military leaders and Soldiers to one day maintain stability in their own nation.

As you read this post, they are preparing to stand in the gap between chaos and peace once again. Some of the bravest Soldiers on the battlefield today, LUMBERJACKS see the dark cloud on the horizon and go to meet it for they know that sacrifice is the cost of liberty.

Our Level I certified trainers are capable of training other units in and around Fort Hood. Feel free to join us for PT any day of the week or stop by for assistance in getting your unit program started.



LTC Kenneth N. Reed
Commander, 20th Engineer Battalion
Fort Hood, Texas

BUILD & FIGHT!
STAY LUMBERJACK!



5-DAY-ON/2-DAY-OFF PROGRAMMING

5-DAY-ON/2-DAY-OFF PROGRAMMING
The CrossFit HQ workout of the day was originally a five-on/two-off pattern, and it worked perfectly. Studies have shown, however, that a three-day-on/one-day-off pattern, as per the CrossFit main site, is best for high volume, high-intensity work. The problem with this pattern is that it does not sync with the five-day-on/two-day-off pattern that governs the U.S. Army. For this reason, we have adopted a five-day-on/two-day-off regimen that nests nicely with the standard U.S. Army five-day workweek. LUMBERJACK CrossFit programming will be taking on a new focus meant to improve core strength and overall technique. To promote these goals, the old programming schedule has been modified to one that focuses on heavy weight lifting at the start of the week, when participants are the best rested. Since these heavy workouts do not take much time by themselves, this ensures more time is available to improve technique for the day’s intended lift. Ensuing WODs follow the standard couplet/triplet schedule, with occasional sprint and endurance drills to keep things interesting.

Friday, July 31, 2009

Back Squat



1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

"Cindy"


Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

AMRAP 20 minutes of:

10 Wallball shots, 20 pound ball
10 GHD Sit-ups
10 Back extensions

Monday, July 27, 2009

Suicide medicine balls

Place 5 medicine balls at 200 meter intervals.
Sprint to first ball, carry it back: continue until all balls are back.
(grader replaces balls)

five rounds for time

Sunday, July 26, 2009

Rest Day


Level 1 Certification held at Fort Hood, TX. Many thanks to the team from CrossFit.com for putting on such a great event.

Saturday, July 25, 2009

Hang power clean

1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Friday, July 24, 2009

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Five rounds for time of:

30 Glute-ham sit-ups
25 Back extensions

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Thruster

1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Monday, July 20, 2009

For time:


50 Box jump, 24 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Saturday, July 18, 2009

"Nancy"




5 rounds for time of:
400 meter run
95 pound Overhead squat, 15 reps

Friday, July 17, 2009

For time:


30 Muscle-ups

(substitute pull ups if you cannot do a muscle up)

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Deadlift


1-1-1-1-1-1-1 reps

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

Lynne


Five rounds for max reps of:
Body weight bench press
Pull-ups

Monday, July 13, 2009

3 Sets Each:



400 Meter Run


Pull Ups, 10


Incline Bench, 15 reps


Hang Clean, 15


Power Shrug, 15

Hang Clean Jacks, 10

Curls, 15


Overhead Tricep Extension, 15

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Four rounds for time of:

Run 400 meters
50 Squat

Friday, July 10, 2009

Fran

  • Thruster 95 lbs
  • Pull-ups
21-15-9 reps, for time

Thursday, July 9, 2009

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

WM: medium weight scored for time




Front Squats 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3 reps




400 meter run between each set

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

5 rounds for time of:


30 Box Jumps
30 Air Squats

400 Meter Run

Sunday, July 5, 2009

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Friday, July 3, 2009

For time:

Row 500 meters
Body weight Bench press, 30 reps
Row 1000 meters
Body weight Bench press, 20 reps
Row 2000 meters
Body weight Bench press, 10 reps

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Wednesday, July 1, 2009